Burton Albion begin their first season in the second tier away at neighbours Nottingham Forest.

League One winners Wigan are at 2014-15 third-tier champions Bristol City.

Play-off winners Barnsley, who beat Millwall at Wembley to earn promotion to the Championship, start their season at Portman Road against Ipswich Town.

In the pick of the Boxing Day matches, former European champions Villa, returning to the second tier for the first time in 28 years, are at home to Burton, who were in non-league until 2009.
EFL fixtures released

  • League One
  • League Two

Burton’s trip to the City Ground to face Nottingham Forest will not only be the first meeting between the two neighbours, but will also see Brewers boss Nigel Clough take his side to a club he and his family will forever be entwined with.

Clough had two spells at Forest, playing under his legendary father Brian, who won the European Cup twice with the club before his son’s playing career had started.

Nigel Clough’s first managerial role came at Burton, taking the Staffordshire side out of non-league for the first time ever seven years ago before leaving for spells at Derby and Sheffield United.

But he returned to the near-7,000-capacity Pirelli Stadium in December 2015 after Jimmy Floyd Hasselbaink left for QPR and led the Brewers to a second-placed finish in League One.
Opening weekend fixtures (all Saturday, 6 August – 15:00 BST unless stated)

  • Fulham v Newcastle United (Friday, 5 August – 19:45 BST)
  • Birmingham City v Cardiff City
  • Blackburn Rovers v Norwich City
  • Bristol City v Wigan Athletic
  • Derby County v Brighton
  • Huddersfield Town v Brentford
  • Ipswich Town v Barnsley
  • Nottingham Forest v Burton Albion
  • Reading v Preston North End
  • Rotherham United v Wolverhampton Wanderers
  • Queens Park Rangers v Leeds United (Sunday, 7 August – 12:00 BST)
  • Sheffield Wednesday v Aston Villa (Sunday, 7 August – 16:30 BST)

Club-by-club Championship fixtures

  • Aston Villa
  • Ipswich Town
  • Barnsley
  • Leeds United
  • Birmingham City
  • Newcastle United
  • Blackburn Rovers
  • Norwich City
  • Brentford
  • Nottingham Forest
  • Brighton & Hove Albion
  • Preston North End
  • Bristol City
  • Queens Park Rangers
  • Burton Albion
  • Reading
  • Cardiff City
  • Rotherham United
  • Derby County
  • Sheffield Wednesday
  • Fulham
  • Wigan Athletic
  • Huddersfield Town
  • Wolverhampton Wanderers

Leave a Reply